On 30 April 2018, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie, Minister for Regional Communications, announced the commencement of the 2018 Regional Telecommunications Review.

The committee is chaired by Mr Sean Edwards, and the members are Ms Wendy Duncan, Ms Johanna Plante, Ms Robbie Sefton, Ms Kylie Stretton and Mr Paul Weller.

The committee is reviewing telecommunications services in regional, rural and remote parts of Australia. As part of the review, the committee will:

  • consider how regional communities can maximise the economic benefits of digital technologies
  • consider how regional consumers use their broadband services and how they might derive more benefits, and
  • analyse the coverage outcomes achieved through the Mobile Black Spot Program, and examine the extent of the existing gaps in mobile coverage in regional Australia.

The Committee released an issues paper providing an outline of key interest areas and invited submissions from individuals, businesses, peak bodies and other interested organisations. The Committee also travelled across Australia to meet face-to-face with communities.

The consultation period is now closed and submissions are under review. Non-confidential submissions will be published shortly.

The Committee will report to the Minister for Regional Communications by 30 September 2018.