Frequently asked questions

1. Who is on the Committee?

Six members have been appointed to the Committee by the Minister for Regional Communications, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie, including Mr Sean Edwards (Chair), Ms Wendy Duncan, Ms Johanna Plante, Ms Robbie Sefton, Ms Kylie Stretton and Mr Paul Weller.

2. Why were these Committee members appointed?

The Committee Chair and members all have experience in regional and/or telecommunications matters. The Committee also provides a broad geographical representation, with members from South Australia, Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland and Western Australia.

3. Why was the Committee established?

The Committee is established by Part 9B of the Telecommunications (Consumer Protection and Service Standards) Act 1999 to conduct an independent review into telecommunications services in regional, rural and remote parts of Australia every three years.

4. Are there Terms of Reference for the review?

Yes. The Terms of Reference are available on the About the Review page.

5. What issues will the Committee look at?

The Committee has released an issues paper and is calling for submissions. The review provides an opportunity for people living in regional, rural and remote areas to have their say about the telecommunications issues that affect them.

In conducting the review, the Committee has a broad remit to consider whether people in regional, rural and remote parts of Australia have equitable access to telecommunications services.

The Committee is particularly interested in maximising the economic and social benefits that digital connectivity offers regional communities, both now and into the future.

6. Will there be a public consultation process?

The Committee is undertaking an intensive consultation process over an eight week period and will meet face-to-face with communities, businesses and governments across regional, rural and remote Australia.

The Committee will be holding a number of public and stakeholder consultation sessions throughout June and July 2018. The consultation locations and dates are available on the Consultations page.

7. How were the consultation locations chosen?

The consultation locations were chosen to cover a broad geographical area, including sessions across regional Australia.

Individuals, businesses and community groups will also be able to have their say by making a comment or submission online through the website.

8. When is the Committee due to report?

The Committee will report to the Minister for Regional Communications by 30 September 2018.

9. What are the next steps after the review?

The Government is required to table the Committee report within 15 sitting days of receiving it and is required to respond to the report’s recommendations within six months of receiving the report.